Bex Clowes

Ride Group: F3

What kind of rider are you?

I started cycling during lock down and got totally addicted. After a few rides I was hooked. Not just hooked to riding my bike, but hooked to learning about the sport of cycling in general. I love to push myself on training rides, but I equally enjoy cake and coffee and the social side of riding.

How often do you ride?

I’m usually a regular at the weekends and try to squeeze in the mid-week rides where I can. I work in town, so during the winter months it can be challenging, but you’ll often see me at the market square most Sundays.

Why do you ride?

I genuinely love riding my bike. I’ve only been cycling for just over 2 years and I’m still learning the craft, but I enjoy all aspects of being on the bike. Whether it’s social rides, chain gangs, trips away, pootling etc. Forge is great as it caters to all of this and is why I was originally drawn to the club.

Riding keeps me fit and healthy, and also allows me to switch off from my busy work schedule. I’m also incredibly competitive, so I enjoy challenging myself and seeing improvements/comparing stats (I mean who doesn’t love looking at stats).

Do you have any cycling targets this year?

Eek, I’ve just started racing (which I’ve been putting off for the last 6 months), so I’m really keen to get some more crit races under my belt and hopefully earn some points. I’m super excited to gain racing experience and learn all about the tactics. The club has been a great support and offered advise/tips when it comes to racing. We have active members that race so it’s been really encouraging to experience it with other members.

I’ve also got a few cycling trips in the calendar for the upcoming year so I’m looking forward to training for those and riding on some new roads both in the UK and overseas.

When you’re not cycling, what do you get up to?

I work in fashion retail as a Buyer, I have a really busy work schedule which includes a little travelling, so with the free time I do have, it is often spent on my bike. My boyfriend also rides with the club so we have lots of fun taking the bikes away.

I’m from the Peak District originally so try and get back to see my family and friends when I can. I also love cooking and I’m a massive foody/coffee lover!

Oh and I have 2 cats called Sasha and Duane who drive me slightly mad, but are equally as adorable.